Each profile area is governed by a Steering Committee, which

  • consists of up to eight individuals from at least three different RWTH faculties
  • elects one Steering Committee member as the profile area's spokesperson and one member as its deputy spokesperson. Furthermore, the Steering Committee appoints a coordinator for the profile area.
  • defines rules of participation based on scientific excellence and relevance for the key research topics.

Steering Committee members are appointed for a period of two years; re-election is possible.